Maltese Feasts Calendar 2017

Malta Expats | Maltese Feasts Calendar 2017

In every locality, large or small, a feast is organised in honor of either the patron saint (festa titulari) or the ‘second in importance’ saint (festa sekondarja). Maltese Feasts are not to be missed! Not all parishes have two annual feasts. Some parishes have only one. In the parishes with two traditional feasts, rivalry between one group of parishioners and the other will be at its best starting from a week or two before the feast day in question. This is manifested through the programme of activities organised by band clubs and confraternities.

Feasts are occasions of great rejoicing. This is further expressed through enriched church decorations, liturgical functions, street illuminations, fireworks, band programmes and open-air entertainment. Some feasts have particular traditions. A case in point is the water regatta held during the feast of Our Lady’s Nativity celebrated at 1-Isla, a seaside locality.

With only a few exceptions, the majority of localities organise their feasts between April and September. This period of time is referred to by the locals as the ‘festa season‘. Only the parishes of St Paul’s Shipwreck (one of the three Valletta parishes), St Joseph (Rabat, Malta) and the Immaculate Conception (Bormla) organise their feasts according to the Church’s liturgical calendar.

Malta Expats | Maltese Feasts Calendar 2017MALTESE FEASTS CALENDAR 2017

28 Holy Family, Iklin
29 The Conversion of St. Paul, Mdina

10 St Paul’s Shipwreck, Valletta

12 SanGirgor, Kercem
19 St. Joseph, Rabat

04 Annunciation, Gudja
30 St Publius, Floriana

01 St. Joseph the Worker, Birkirkara
07 St. Joseph, Xaghra
21 St. Augustine, Valletta S.W
22 Santa Rita, Valletta S.W
28 Our Lady of Fatima, Gwardaman
28 St Paul’s Shipwreck, Munxar
28 Annunciation, Tarxien

04 St Joseph, Ghaxaq
11 Eucharistic Christ Savior, Ghasri
11 Holy Trinity, Marsa
11 St. Philip, Zebbug
18 Sacred Heart, Fontana
18 Our Lady of Lilies, Mqabba
18 Corpus Domini, Rabat
18 St. Catherine, Zejtun
25 Immaculate Heart of Mary, Burmarrad
25 St George, Qormi
25 San Nikola,  Siggiewi
25 St. John Baptist, Xewkija
29 St Peter and St Paul, Mdina
29 St Peter and St Paul, Nadur

02 Our Lady, Fleur-de-Lys
02 Visitation of the Virgin Mary, Gharb
02 Immkulata Conception, Hamrun
02 St Andrew, Luqa
02 Madona of Lourdes, Qrendi
02 Paul, Rabat
02 Our Lady of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, Sliema
09 Annunciation, Balzan
09 Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Fgura
09 Our Lady Island, Gzira
09 Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Kercem
09 St. Joseph, Kirkop
16 St. Joseph, Kalkara
16 San Sebastian, Qormi
16 Madonna of Doctrine, Tarxien
16 St George Rabat, Ghawd
23 St Joseph, Msida
23 Santa Margherita, Sannat
23 Mount Madonna, Zurrieq
30 Our Lady Madonna, Balluta Bay
30 St. Anne, Marsaskala
30 Pompei Madonna, Marsaxlokk
30 Christ King, Paola
30 San Lawrenz, San Lawrenz
30 Santa Venera, Santa Venera
30 Our Lady of Sorrows, St. Paul’s Bay
30 St. Joseph Olives, Zebbug

06 St. Peter in Chains, Birzebbuga
06 San Gejtanu, Hamrun
06 The Savior, Lija
06 St. Joseph, Qala
06 Our Lady of Lourdes, Saw Gwan
06 Dominic, Valletta
10 San Lawrenz, Birgu
15 St. Mary, Attard
15 St. Mary, Birkirkara
15 Santa Marija, Ghaxaq
15 Santa Marija, Gudja
15 Santa Marija, Mosta
15 Santa Marija, Mqabba
15 Santa Marija, Qrendi
15 Santa Maria, Victoria
20 St Helen, Birkirkara
20 Santa Maria Sun, Dingli
20 St Leonard, Kirkop
20 St. Mary, Mgarr
20 Our Lady of Lourdes, Paola
20 Stella Maris, Sliema
20 St. Mar, Zebbug
27 St. Dominic, Birgu
27 Our Lady of Loreto, Ghajnsielem
27 San Birtilmew, Gharghur
27 Queen Mary, Marsa
27 St. Joseph, Manikata
27 The Conversion of St. Paul, Hal Safi
27 San Julian, San Julian

03 St. Francis of Assisi, Qawra
03 St. Gregory, Sliema
03 St. Catherine, Zurrieq
08 Marija Bambina, Isla
08 Marija Bambina, Mellieha
08 Marija Bambina, Naxxar
08 Marija Bambina, Xaghra
10 Our Lady of Grace, Zabbar
29 Our Lady of Consolation, Valletta S.W.

01 Holy Rosary, Gudja
08 St. Francis ta’Assis, Sliema
29 Our Lady of the Gridle, Gudja

11 San Adeodato, Sannat
12 San Koronatu Nadur
19 St. John of The Cross, Ta ‘Xbiex
26 St Andrew, Fontana

08 Immaculate Conception, Bromla
08 Immaculate Conception, Qala
10 Our Lady of Loreto, Gudja
13 Saint Lucia, Mtarfa